Officers Commended For Their Brave Involvement In A Firearms Incident

Well done to a large team of officers who have received a commendation for their involvement in a dangerous firearms incident.

In the early hours of Sunday 7th August, police received a call from a member of the public stating that there was male brandishing a handgun in Middlesbrough town centre.   This was extremely concerning not only because of the nature of the report but because Middlesbrough town centre was still heavily populated with people making their way home from a night out. 

Officers attended and confirmed that a male was holding a handgun and had begun to wave it around.  Unarmed officers were able to remain calm and professional whilst communicating real time information which helped officers in the Control Room formulate an appropriate strategy.

Firearms officers and the dog section were deployed and officers in the Control Room communicated the strategy to the officers on the ground.  The unarmed officers continued to provide succinct updates on the male, despite the subject waving the handgun in an aggressive manner towards them, until the armed units arrived.

The armed response team along with dog section were able to contain the male with clear guidance to consider less lethal options.  With the male continuing his threats he was successfully disarmed after the police dog and a baton round were used to disarm him. 

All officers involved remained professional and calm.  These attributes coupled with their teamwork contributed to a safe and proportionate resolution of a potentially life-threatening situation. 

In recognition of their accountability, selflessness and objectivity when dealing with an incident involving a male brandishing an imitation firearm, each of the following officers have been awarded a Chief Constable’s Commendation, PC Shahid Ahmed, Sergeant Anthony Costello, PC Paul Crowley, PC Russell Doherty, PC Sarah Evans, Sergeant Paul Faulkner, PC James Groves, PC Matthew Holman, Sergeant Anthony Simpson, PC Shaun Townsend, PC Darren Walker, PC John Walker, PC Darren Williamson, PC Lee Wilson and PC Adam Woodland.